The Flenser // Now Flensing - Dark Experimental Record Label


    White Suns - Psychic Drift

    New York City’s noise duo White Suns have existed since 2006 and have released three full-length albums – Waking In The Reservoir (UgExplode, 2011), Sinews (Load, 2012) and Totem (The Flenser, 2014) – along with a handful of small-run releases. Their material has received accolades from the New Yorker, SPIN, Pitchfork, and Tiny Mix Tapes among others, and they’ve extensively toured the U.S. and garnered a reputation as a threatening and intense live act. This summer, White Suns will release their challenging fourth album, Psychic Drift, via label partner The Flenser, and today, they’ve premiered the album’s first single “A Year Without Summer” on TinyMixTapes. Following the deconstructed rock instrumentation of 2014's Totem, White Suns' Dana Matthiessen and Kevin Barry continue their inexorable plunge into sonic abstraction. Psychic Drift consists of four long-form compositions where synthesizers, field recordings, cut-up samples and lurching rhythms form a tapestry of shifting layers. The focus here is on texture and atmosphere, utilizing repurposed aspects of drone, industrial and harsh noise to create claustrophobic soundscapes that ripple and groan. Look for Psychic Drift to be released June 16th and stay tuned for more songs to premiere soon. Pre-order. European pre-order. White Suns, Psychic Drift track listing: 1. Korea 2. Pilgrim 3. A Year Without Summer 4. Medicine Walk The ostensible soundtrack for the apocalypse.” - Dusted “…subverting the lines between noise-rock, metal, and the electronic avant-garde with aural assaults that render those distinctions irrelevant.” - Pop Matters "Every so often a band comes along whose music is so disturbing and jarring on the first initial listen that it prompts you to just stop halfway through their record. But then, you immediately keep playing and delve deeper into the record because it intrigues you and stirs your overall senses, redefining what it means to play heavy music that straddles a very thin line with noise and cacophony.” - The 1st Five