The Flenser // Now Flensing - Dark Experimental Record Label


    White Suns Announcement

    80ww_whitesunssmallThe Flenser is pleased to announce The Flensers collaboration with Brooklyn based noise institution White Suns. White Suns has existed since 2006 and is comprised of members Kevin Barry, Dana Matthiessen and Rick Visser. The band sculpts sound using detuned guitars, amplified drums, and makeshift electronics. Their aural explorations begin at the intersection of punk and electronics-based noise, oscillating between crushingly dense assaults and articulate hushed passages. While in NYC, White Suns have released two full-length albums - Waking In The Reservoir (UgExplode, 2011) and Sinews (Load, 2012) - along with a handful of small-run releases. Their material has received accolades from the New Yorker, SPIN, Pitchfork, and Tiny Mix Tapes among others. White Suns has extensively toured the U.S. and garnered a reputation as a threatening and intense live act. In March of 2014, White Suns will release their third album, Totem, on SF-based dark music label The Flenser on vinyl, CD and digital formats. On this album, their signature onslaught is tempered by deadened stares and slow-burn instrumentals. Renowned recording engineer Martin Bisi (Sonic Youth, Swans, Foetus) provided documentation of the performance in his labyrinthine BC Studio compound. Totem is rock music realizing its obsolescence; the work of a band compelled to mutate. Song and video premieres from White Suns' Totem coming soon in 2014. White Suns - Totem Track Listing: 1 Priest In The Laboratory 2 Prostrate 3 Disjecta Membra 4 Cathexis 5 Fossil Record 6 Clairvoyant 7. World Lock 8. Line of Smoke 9. Carrion "An expressionist masterwork." - SPIN "…an exact midpoint where noise's anarchy can squeeze inside the lines of muscular punk." - Pitchfork