The Flenser // Now Flensing - Dark Experimental Record Label


Wreck and Reference - Absolute Still Life

  • by
  • 2 min read

Pre-orderBandcampPre-order Europe (France)

New album out July 19th! Absolute Still Lifeis the fourth full-length album by the experimental duo Wreck and Reference. The album marks a radical departure from the band’s heavy and noise rock origins and finds them driving toward a more electronic and abstract dimension. Like past albums, warped synthesizers and pillaged samples build up the harmonic elements of the songs, but the absence of acoustic drums gives Absolute Still Life a colder, more alien aesthetic. With fewer screams and stranger textures than before, Wreck and Reference find themselves alone again in uncharted and uncategorizable territory.

Absolute Still Life’scover depicts a sickly still life in which edible and inedible elements mix in an unnatural and unappetizing collage of bright colors. The title reflects the absurdist version of reality that we find ourselves in and unable to escape.

To date, Wreck and Reference have released four EPs and three full-length albums. Their first work, an EP titled Black Cassette, showcased distorted fragments and synthesizers in angular, heavy songs, with themes of determinism and Cormac McCarthy-esque isolation. Their debut full-length No Youth (2012) and their sophomore release Want(2014), described by Pitchfork as having “radical vision” and “boundless experimentation,” represented dramatic expansions of their sonic palette. In 2016, Wreck and Reference released their third LP, Indifferent Rivers Romance End, perfecting their song craft and pushing their noisy, sample-based instrumentation to its limits.

Track List

1. A Mirror

2. Sturdy Dawn

3. Eris Came To Me At Night

4. Stubborn Lake

5. What Goes In And Comes Out

6. What Is A Gift

7. In Uniform

8. Dumb Forest

9. Amends

10. Irony Of Being Something

Total running time 40:46